ASTA Membership & Life Members

Lifetime Members




Jan Giffney 2015 For 19 years of service to Science teachers in Auckland through workshops at St Cuthbert’s College and conferences, extensive work with NZQA and MoE and for her support for students through many publications.
Judy Walsby 2015 For her longstanding support of Horticulture teaching in Auckland through support groups and workshops and for her work as a committee member of ASTA.
Ian Torrie 2014 For his outstanding support for Chemistry teachers over a sustained period of time and involvement in the ASTA Committee.
Ian Milne 2014  For service to Primary Science in Auckland, starting the Primary Science sub-committee and running the Primary Science Conference nationwide.
Mikhal Stone  2013 For her support to all science areas in Auckland (and greater New Zealand) for a sustained number of years.
Murray Black  2012  For his long service to Science Fair committee work and judging.
Kel Angelsey 2002 He was nominated after spending several years on the committee. He was heavily involved in Earth Science Education, including organisation of the annual and very popular Geology Field day in conjunction with the Geology Department of Auckland University.
Denis Burchill 2001 Denis has a long history of service to the Science education community and performed a vital service in the early communication of ASTA activities.
Graham King 2001 Graham was involved in Science Fairs and on the ASTA Committee for many years and was involved in organising SciCon in 2002.
Brendan Schollum 1992 Brendan spent many years on the ASTA committee and was involved in organising SCICON 1988.
Colin Percy 1986  Colin spent many years as a very active member of ASTA including many years as president.
Donald Jeffrey 1986 Donald was HOD, Physics at Kings College for 15 years from 1969. During his time in Auckland he contributed to the following groups:
Auckland Science Exhibition Committee: Committee member, 1970 – 1971; Chairperson, 1972 – 1975; Judging Convenor, 1976 – 1977.
Philips New Zealand Science Fair: Secretary, 1978. Auckland Science Teachers Association: Vice-president, 1979 – 1980; President, 1981 – 1982.
Auckland Regional Physics Committee of the University Entrance Board: Member, 1976 – 1985.


Current Members

(Late updated 23 October 2019)


– Marcellin College
– Elim Christian College
– Sancta Maria College
– Sacred Heart College
– Waiheke High School
– Westlake Boys High School
– King’s School
– Kristin School
– Whangaparoa College
– Macleans College
– Southern Cross Campus
– Birkenhead College
– Takapuna Grammar School
– Mount Roskill Grammar School
– Aorere College
– Westlake Girls High School
– Pakauranga High School
– St Cuthbert’s College
– Mission Heights Junior College
– Avondale College
– Edgewater College


– Stacey Byers